Still confused on funding

Posted by Thunderbird on October 25, 2009 (07:26AM)

I am new to this trading thing. After researching for several months now, I am still a little confused on account funding. Before I actually dive into trading, I don't want to dive onto a rock and die right off. I am unclear on how the funding machinery works. Let's say, for instance, I want to start out modestly with $1000.

1) First of all, where does it go?

2) Does TK assess any setup fees or other hidden costs that would devalue the original funding?

3) I understand the 5 day wait on the initial deposit for the ACH. Does TK take the entire amount in the bank account, or just the amount I specify they can have? In other words if I have $2500 in the bank, they aren't going to mess with anything over $1000, correct? I assume this is how it works.

4) If I make a successful trade, does the money stay in my account at TK, or is it transferred (in the case of ACH) or disbursed to me via a check or how does that work? Do I have to actually request the transference of any profits I have made or is it automatic?

The bouncing part sounds just like a checkbook; if you are overdrawn, you get penalized. However I have been reading posts in the forums suggesting that money is just disappearing from ACH accounts without explanation. Maybe I am just not reading the posts correctly. I just want to make sure that if I go to the poorhouse, I understand that it's my fault, and that I'm not just getting screwed by unclear calculation.

Any help greatly appreciated.  

Posted by BeretDude on October 25, 2009 (08:24AM)

Thunderbird said: I am new to this trading thing. After researching for several months now, I am still a little confused on account funding. Before I actually dive into trading, I don't want to dive onto a rock and die right off. I am unclear on how the funding machinery works. Let's say, for instance, I want to start out modestly with $1000.

1) First of all, where does it go?