Karen The Super Trader

Posted by OldFart on June 05, 2012 (11:24AM)

Karen went from her day-job as a CFO to a trader and turned $100,000 in 2007 into $41 million by 2011. This is her story, as told by Karen herself with Tom Sosnoff on Get Tasted. 

Posted by Alex Lopez on June 05, 2012 (03:22PM)

Pretty nice story.

Posted by Joe Greenwood on June 06, 2012 (12:40PM)

I watched the video, quite inspirational.  From what I gather, she trades mostly on SPX, RUT, and NDX.  After watching this video, I now am reading about these indexes (I am very new to this world).  I know very little about options plays, but what I do know allows me to infer she sells OTM (near the money, around 5%) put options.  Most likely there are other elements involved, and also just as likely I am completely wrong.

To be clear:  I have no current expectation to emulate her success.

tastytrade.com looks like a great resource, and Tom Sosnoff is certainly my breed of cat ........ but for now, at $90/mo, I'm not in. Perhaps tomorrow.  I think they just raised their rates x10 a couple days ago, would have been within my means at $90/yr.  And AAPL too, 8 months ago.

Posted by SunnyOne on June 06, 2012 (04:45PM)

$22K for the investing program.  Jeebs.

Posted by Rob M on June 06, 2012 (05:36PM)

Joe, the options she is selling are not near the money. They have a 5% probability of expiring ITM which gives her a 95% probability of success. They are very far OTM.

Her strategy is mainly comprised of selling strangles on SPX, NDX, and RUT.

Posted by OldFart on June 07, 2012 (11:35AM)

Rob - yes, this is my understanding, they are selling straddles, each leg 5% probability of expiring ITM. So 1 in 10 positions should run into trouble. She said something like "once I get your money, you never see it back". Interesting how they adjust the positions

Posted by The Otter Way on June 07, 2012 (11:46AM)

OldFart, will you explain your take on "Adjust" and "Never see it back" please... please... please...