Closing a Bear Call Spread

Posted by th961605 on November 29, 2011 (11:23AM)

I'm fairly new to credit spreads, and had a question about closing out a bear call spread. I placed a contingent order to sell the spread if the underlying reached my break even price (no problem setting this up) but what do I select in terms of price for the option? There is an "even" option and credit and debit options, but how do these prices affect my contingent order of the underlying reaching my break even? Thanks!

Posted by Paul McGhee on November 29, 2011 (03:03PM)

Since theoretical option prices are the result of (at least) four different variables simultaneously, I'm not sure how you'd determine a correct debit to close.

If you are trading in options with tight bid-ask spreads, I think all you could do would be a market order.

Me, I just watch the things like a hawk.

Posted by NYSEguy on November 29, 2011 (09:08PM)

th961605 said: I'm fairly new to credit spreads, and had a question about closing out a bear call spread. I placed a contingent order to sell the spread if the underlying reached my break even price (no problem setting this up) but what do I select in terms of price for the option? There is an "even" option and credit and debit options, but how do these prices affect my contingent order of the underlying reaching my break even? Thanks!

th,

Your bear call spread is a short position; you sold it to open, and you'll buy it to close.  If you want to break even on the spread (or buy it back at a predetermined profit target), you need only submit a limit order for the appropriate debit.  No contingent order is necessary.

Usually, when we consider a "break-even" underlying price for the spread, we do so in the context of the spread's expiration.  If you're planning to let the options expire, then you don't need to submit an order to close.  But if you want to exit the position before expiration, your order to close won't be contingent on the underlying's price.