why would a companies stock price dramatically fall when good earnings are reported?

Posted by redneck_investor on February 06, 2009 (02:35AM)

hi all   take a look at DLTR feb fifth 8 am......

im relatively new at investing. ive been into stocks for only a month and have already earned 35% of what i put in; however, im not sure about why a stock price would drop like DLTR did....i kind of have an idea and here it is..

i believe that the stock price was over valued....people knew that it would make profits  so they went over board and made the price rise really high. when the company released its info, they realized it was over valued and it dropped down to where it should be......this goes the same for under evaluation ...perfect example would be JAVA    when the fiscal quarter info was released....

Am i right about what i just said, or is there more to it ....also,   i havent quite figured out how to calculate what the actual stock price should be......can someone walk me through it with one stock plz....like for example, use DLTR   and tell me how the new fiscal results would be calculated to get its current stock price..   I often see prices adjust to a new level after a fiscal quarter's info has been release, and would really like to know about the math behind those adjustments. thank you very much.

my assumption for dollar tree is that since the economy is doing very poorly, everyone decided that shares of cheap dollar stores were the way to go ; however, everyone bought into it and made the stock fall off a cliff once they found out that it did go up but not as much as they had anticipated.

Posted by Ducati Rider on February 06, 2009 (08:40AM)

I may be reading this wrong but it looks as if the 4th quarter guidance was raised and the stock dropped.